Student organizations enjoy a “wonderland” night of trophies, dinner and dancing.

“More than ever, employers want students with more than just a degree,” said Michael Perez, president of the American Marketing Association (AMA) at Florida International University (FIU). “They look for students involved in campus life and beyond, and the student organizations in FIU’s College of Business Administration offer us a way to earn distinction.”

Actors from the Roxy Theatre Group portrayed characters from Alice in Wonderland.
Actors from the Roxy Theatre Group portrayed characters from Alice in Wonderland.

Recognizing the outstanding achievements of student organizations was the purpose of the 2012 Business Student Awards Banquet held on the Modesto A. Maidique Campus on April 5, 2012. Executive Dean Joyce J. Elam welcomed the over 100 guests, including faculty members Tim Dugan Birrittella, AMA chapter advisor and Constance Bates, International Business Honor Society (IBHS) advisor; and Delta Sigma Pi Professional Business Fraternity – Xi Omega Chapter advisor Dianne Valdivia (MS’ 10, BBA ’06), membership manager, alumni relations.

Perez served as master of ceremonies.

Guests discovered the evening’s theme of a Mad Hatter’s Tea Party as characters from Alice in Wonderland, actors from the Roxy Theatre Group, greeted them upon arrival.

“The annual Business Student Awards Banquet is by far the best event of the year,” said Yanyn San Luis (BA ’10), the former student and alumni relations coordinator, who organized the event along with her assistant Gabriel Noboa and Perez. “We have the opportunity to recognize on all the accomplishments of our students.”

Yanyn San Luis, Michael Perez and Joyce J. Elam
Yanyn San Luis, Michael Perez and Joyce J. Elam

And the trophy goes to …

There were anxious moments as the assembled group waited for the announcement of awards for the 2011-12 academic year. Earning top spots were:

 Business Organization of the Year:
Future Business Leaders of America – Phi Beta Lambda (FBLA-PBL)

Emerging Business Organization:
Chapman International Students Association (CISA)

Business Organization President of the Year:
Michael Perez (AMA)

Largest Chapter Membership:

Partners in Business:
International Business Honor Society (IBHS)

Leadership Enhancement:

Honorable Mention:
Delta Sigma Pi

Executive Board Member of the Year:
Ileana Canizarez (BBA’ 12) (IBHS)

 Elam presented the awards to the Business Organization of the Year and to the President of the Year.

This year marked the introduction of a new category, Executive Board Member of the Year.

“We felt that there are outstanding board members who aren’t necessarily presidents but who should be recognized,” San Luis said.

Related posts


It was such an honor to be involved in this project. Special thank you to Professor Roomes for tailoring his course to accommodate a greater collective goal. The class was so fortunate to have him green light this project we all cared so much about. So proud of our Panther family and Make-A-Wish volunteer Erin Briede for coming together to help make a huge impact in Lorenzo’s life.

Leave a Reply


Please solve the following to prove you are not a bot: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.