College’s donors recognized at Torch Society Induction Ceremony.

In 1989, Florida International University established the Torch Society—a prestigious giving society and donor recognition program that honors the university’s most generous benefactors. The bi-annual Torch Society Induction Ceremony—a “philanthropic commencement”—recognizes the commitment of individuals and organizations whose philanthropic support exemplifies their generosity of spirit and social conscience.

The most recent induction ceremony took place January 28, 2007, at the Wertheim Performing Arts Center on the Modesto A. Maidique Campus. Twenty-seven individuals and organizations were recognized, nine with specific connections to the College of Business Administration.

Individuals and organizations inducted at the Gold Flame level—those who have made commitments of $1 million or more to the university—were:

  • R. Kirk Landon—to the construction of the new building complex, naming the R. Kirk Landon Undergraduate School of Business
  • Ocean Bank—represented by Jose Concepción—to the construction of the new building complex, naming the Ocean Bank Auditorium, and to scholarships
  • Office Depot, Inc.—represented by Chuck Rubin—to the construction of the new building complex, naming the Office Depot Student Center
  • Oracle Corporation—represented by Sara Coniff—a gift in kind of software
  • Regions Bank—represented by Angel Medina Jr. (BBA ’92)—to the construction of the new building complex, naming the Regions Bank Classroom, and to scholarships
  • John S. and James L. Knight Foundation—represented by Suzanna Valdes—to establish the James L. Knight Eminent Scholars Chair in Management Information Systems

Silver Flame inductees—whose commitments to the university have exceeded $500,000—were:

  • Citigroup—represented by Carlos Davila—to various college programs
  • Miami Board of Realtors Educational Foundation—represented by Patricia Dahne (BA ’75)— to establish an endowment supporting the Jerome Bain Real Estate Institute
  • SunTrust Bank—represented by Nicholas Bustle (MS ’88)—to establish the SunTrust Professorship and to various other programs

“The college is very fortunate to have the support of so many individuals and corporations,” said Joyce J. Elam, executive dean. “Their generosity allows us to provide an exceptional educational experience for our students. We are pleased to be able to recognize and honor them by inducting them into the Torch Society.”

Related posts

Leave a Reply


Please solve the following to prove you are not a bot: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.