University will honor business alumni at annual Torch Awards.

Each year, Florida International University’s Alumni Association (FIUAA) honors distinguished alumni and faculty member at its annual Torch Awards Gala. The Torch Awards honor the memory of Senator Ernest R. Graham, the forward-thinking champion who helped to create the university. Recipients of the award are recognized for the positive impact they have made on their profession, the community and the university.

Joseph L. Caruncho and Justo L. Pozo

The 2008 College of Business Administration alumni recipients of Torch Awards are Joseph L. Caruncho, Esq. (BBA ’81) and Justo L. Pozo (BBA ’80). The Community Leadership Award will be awarded to Angel Medina, Jr. (BBA ’92).

The recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Awards are selected by the university’s colleges and schools, and the Charles E. Perry Young Alumni Visionary Award, Community Leadership Award and Outstanding Faculty Member Award are selected by the Torch Awards Committee of the FIUAA. This committee is composed of alumni who represent past Torch Award recipients and the FIUAA’s Board of Directors.

President Modesto A. Maidique and William Trueba, Esq., president of the FIU Alumni Association, will honor the 2008 recipients at the 7th Annual Torch Awards Gala on Saturday, March 8, 2008, with a cocktail reception commencing at 6:30 p.m. and dinner and ceremony at 7:30 p.m. in the Graham Center Ballrooms at University Park.

Angel Medina, Jr.

Special guests will include Barry E. Johnson, president and CEO, Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce, who will serve emcee, and a special musical performance by the university’s own Alejandra Alberti, a 2007 Latin Grammy Nominee.

The gala not only honors the outstanding recipients but also serves as a fundraiser for student scholarships.

Related posts

Leave a Reply


Please solve the following to prove you are not a bot: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.